The Forget Me Not Service

The Forget Me Not Service

image

Yesterday 12 of us went to the N.I. Children’s Hospice for their annual “Forget Me Not” Service. It was very moving to be together with so many people each grieving the loss of a child. The service was quite simple but I found it very emotional. Before the service started there was an opportunity to display a photo of Leah and attach messages to it.

image

The service opened with the choir singing the song “Somewhere only we know” that is associated with the 2013 John Lewis Christmas Advert. Just before Christmas 2013, Leah and I were invited to a school assembly at her former primary school, to receive a cheque for monies they had raised to support the Clic Sargent charity.

However that morning the pain from Leah’s spinal fracture was very severe and she was unable to come with me. I wept for most of the 15 minute drive from home to the school. It just felt so wrong that my daughter – who was supposedly recovering and “getting better” – seemed to have so much pain and a decreasing quality of life.

Every month since her transplant in August, Leah had developed a new complication or side effect. I found it hard to escape the nagging sense of uneasiness that I felt in my heart regarding Leah’s medical condition.

At the school assembly that morning they played the John Lewis Advert to illustrate a point in the principal’s talk. We don’t have a live television connection at home so I didn’t hear the song again until yesterday, but it immediately caused me to remember the sad feeling I had that December morning, that something in my daughter’s body just wasn’t quite right.

Leah’s hospital consultant in Belfast was very vigilant and very protective of her and she was being very closely monitored, so nothing was ever missed that could possibly be treated. In a discussion I had with Leah’s Bristol consultant after her death, he & I concluded that a mother’s intuition can sense things that can’t be picked up by blood tests or X-rays.

The hospice have two large memory books containing the life stories of the children who have died and these are carried up to the front during the service.

imageimage

Many weeks ago our hospice outreach nurse gave us blank sheets of card to write Leah’s life story for insertion in the Memory Book but these remained blank, as the thought of filling them in just seemed too painful for me. Last Tuesday a very kind friend came to our house and helped me to fill these pages in for insertion in the Memory Book before the service today.

imageimageimageimageimageimage

After the service we collected Leah’s memory stone and carried it out to the Quiet Garden and Rachel chose a space in which to place it.

imageimageimage

We spent some time chatting to parents whom I first met through work nearly nine years ago. When Leah was a little girl she met their very ill wee baby and her heart was moved to pray for that wee baby every night, during the time that I was in contact with them.

After we left the Children’s Hospice, Leah’s Auntie Evelyn had us all back to her house for tea. Leah and I stayed with Evelyn in Belfast for two weeks when we first returned from Bristol and I hadn’t been back to her house since, so I found that very emotional too.

However it was just lovely to have that time together – we were well fed, we enjoyed each other’s company and we managed a few laughs too.

5 thoughts on “The Forget Me Not Service

Leave a Reply

