The Girl’s Brigade CD

The Girl’s Brigade CD

Today I listened to this CD of worship songs recorded by Leah along with all the other girls in Kilfennan Girls Brigade in 2010.
imageimage
The money raised from sales of this CD was divided between Kilfennan GB and the NI Children’s Hospice, where Leah subsequently died in January 2014 in peace and dignity.

Every April our Girl’s Brigade finishes its year’s work with a fantastic display for parents and friends. The last performance on the night’s agenda is the finale. This is where the girls of secondary school age – the ‘Company Section’ – usually sing a medley of favourite worship songs/choruses.

image
Leah is first on the right hand side of the middle row

I used to love the expression on Leah’s face as she sang – it radiated joy. Leah’s facial expression told me that she meant every word:

All I once held dear, built my life upon
All this world reveres, and wars to own
All I once thought gain I have counted loss
Spent and worthless now, compared to this

Knowing you, Jesus
Knowing you, there is no greater thing
You’re my all, you’re the best
You’re my joy, my righteousness
And I love you, Lord

Now my heart’s desire is to know you more
To be found in you and known as yours
To possess by faith what I could not earn
All-surpassing gift of righteousness

Oh, to know the power of your risen life
And to know You in Your sufferings
To become like you in your death, my Lord
So with you to live and never die

Graham Kendrick
Copyright © 1993 Make Way Music,

When Leah was three years old she came home from Good News Club and asked Jesus to forgive her sins and to live in her heart as her Lord and Saviour.

One of her favourite wee books used to be “Jesus all alone” that she had received as an Easter gift at the Parent and Toddler Group at our church. It tells the story of Jesus dying on the cross. She had memorised the words from cover to cover when she was very young.
image
Early in 2012 when Leah was 14 she found herself struggling both emotionally and spiritually. That Summer she went to C.E.F. Camp (Child Evangelism Fellowship) in Rossnowlagh in Donegal and also to the ‘Livewire’ teen programme at New Horizon in Coleraine, where she met with God in a new and deeper way. This is a text she sent me that week:
image
Leah stayed with friends in Portstewart for the week of New Horizon. At the end of that week I collected her and brought her home, a 40 minute journey.

Leah talked excitedly the whole way home about what she had learned about God and about what He was doing in her life. When we reached our house it was a while before she could even stop talking long enough for us to get out of the car. I was so delighted and amazed to hear everything that she was sharing with me. I remember the next night in the kitchen Leah hugging me and her telling me “Mummy I just love Jesus so much!”

In October that year Leah was asked to write out her testimony for a youth conference in Donegal.
imageimage
When Leah was in Intensive Care, on one of the days that the doctor had called me out to explain that my daughter was unlikely to survive, I came back into her room and searched on YouTube for the song “Our God is a Great Big God” and played it. Leah was on a ventilator and too weak to even open her eyes, but she immediately smiled and used her two hands to do all the actions to accompany the words.

Our God is a great big God
Our God is a great big God
Our God is a great big God
And He holds me in His hand.

He’s higher than a sky scraper
And He’s deeper than a submarine.
He’s wider than the universe
And beyond my wildest dreams.

And He’s known me and He’s loved me
Since before the world began.
How wonderful to be a part
Of God’s amazing plan.

The closer Leah came to death, the more joyful and peaceful she became.

She told Nic, her boyfriend, that she wasn’t afraid to die.

She was as sure of the truth in the words of the above songs on her death bed, as she had been when she sang them with the Company Section of the 320th Girl’s Brigade Company.

Leave a Reply

