Parenthood ~ a poem by Katie Dalgoutte

Parenthood ~ a poem by Katie Dalgoutte

Henry the Handsome and I

On the 20th December 2013 I shared another of katie Dalgoutte’s very moving poems on my Facebook page. Katie lives in the UK and her handsome son Henry was diagnosed with a grade 3 ependymoma ( brain tumour) at the age of 13 months old in January 2013. Henry is currently doing very well.

Katie speaks for so many of us “oncology mums” with her poetry. I previously published her very powerful poem Imagine on this blog.

Katie’s poem ‘Parenthood’ describes exactly how I was feeling when I posted it on my Facebook wall that day in December 2013. Sadly eight days later, Leah was critically ill in Intensive Care.

Parenthood

Being a parent is such a privilege and joy,

Such years of fun and love to enjoy.

But sometimes with joy comes worry and strike,

A fear that threatens your beautiful child’s life.

We hold on to the reigns, but we lose control,

We are forced to take on so many roles.

Today I’m a counsellor, I’ll comfort my child,

I’ll provide cuddles when they’re going wild,

I am a physio, helping move on,

Support them in learning skills that have just gone.

I am a researcher, searching for answers,

Praying for cures for these horrible cancers

I am a nurse handing out drugs,

When all I once knew was dealing in hugs.

I am a doctor using medical words,

Vocabulary not long ago I’d never heard

I am a dietician praying that he’ll eat,

Avoiding sickness and nausea becomes a treat.

I am a therapist encouraging speech,

Loving and nurturing, trying to teach.

I am a psychologist, doing my best,

When inside myself I’m feeling distressed.

I am an actress pretending to be

A strong happy parent, with no cracks to see.

I am a clown creating laughter,

I’ll strive to make memories today and hereafter.

But most of all I’m still just a mother

Living each day at a time.

All I want in life is for him to be here

My child, my world, my life, my all.

By Katie, Henry’s mummy. 16th October 2013 ©

 

Katie Dalgoutte is an amazing person, as are so many parents of very ill children. Katie has set up a charity called Henry’s Holiday Help. It is a small charity that provides local children (Bury St. Edmunds area) diagnosed with cancer from 2013 onwards, with some money towards a holiday to enjoy during or after treatment.

During this season of goodwill perhaps you would like to make a donation; their gofundme page can be found here. Alternatively, you can contact Katie at henrysholidayhelp@gmail.com or go to the facebook page https://www.facebook.com/HenryTheHandsomesJourney/.

 

Leave a Reply

