Grief really is about the Small Stuff

Grief really is about the Small Stuff

Leah at Grianan Fort in 2011
Leah at Grianan Fort in Donegal in 2011

Grief really is about the small stuff.

Yesterday I went to North-West Memorials in Muff, Co. Donegal, to order Leah’s headstone for her grave.

I was there for over an hour as we discussed every aspect of what Leah’s headstone will look like.

I had been there previously and taken photos of headstones that I thought were suitable, then taken these photos home to discuss with the rest of the family. Together as a family we agreed on the wording and the design of the headstone for Leah’s grave.

I felt very sad of course, but I was able to keep my emotions under control, both while driving to and from Donegal and while talking to the lovely man in the memorial shop.

Today as I was searching on YouTube for a song that I couldn’t quite remember the name of, I happened upon this song that Leah learned at Primary School and sang constantly around the house and in the car, once upon a time.

I was immediately reduced to a blubbering wreck.

My heart aches with longing for the girl whose smile, laughter and singing, brightened our lives.

I JUST WANNA BE A SHEEP

Chorus
I just wanna be a sheep
Baa, baa, baa, baa
I just wanna be a sheep
Baa, baa, baa, baa
I pray the Lord my soul to keep
I just wanna be a sheep
Baa, baa, baa, baa,

Verse 1
Don’t wanna be a goat…nope
Don’t wanna be a goat…nope
Haven’t got any hope…nope
Don’t wanna be a goat…nope

Verse 2
Don’t wanna be a hypocrite
Don’t wanna be a hypocrite
‘Cause they’re not hip to it
Don’t wanna be a hypocrite

Verse 3
Don’t wanna be a Pharisee
Don’t wanna be a Pharisee
‘Cause they’re not fair you see
Don’t wanna be a Pharisee

Verse 4
Don’t wanna be a Sadducee
Don’t wanna be a Sadducee
‘Cause they’re so sad you see
Don’t wanna be a Sadducee

Verse 5
Just wanna be a child of God
Just wanna be a child of God
Walkin’ the same path He trod
Just wanna be a child of God

One thought on “Grief really is about the Small Stuff

Leave a Reply

